Tell the Spartans...

The Universe and Everything in It

Moderator: Moderators

Windwalker
Site Admin

Tell the Spartans...

Post by Windwalker »

Many of you know that I have been fighting to keep my research going for the last two years. Federal funding of science has fallen to abysmal levels and, in my case, even my salary (let alone funds for the laboratory) comes entirely from NIH grants. To keep my people as long as possible, I halved my salary for a year and I may also have to weather a period of no salary.

Recently, I was offered a powerful administrative position at the NIH. I would be judging other people''s grants, deciding what to fund. To avoid conflicts of interest, NIH prohibits people in these positions from doing research and also imposes strong restrictions on outside activities, requiring lengthy pre-clearing for such things as writing and giving talks.

Perhaps as an omen, on the day that I went to DC to give my talk, a tiny grant I had sent almost as an afterthought unexpectedly got an outstanding score. To make a medium-length story short, I refused the position. The dream of doing research is what made me come to this country. Things are still chancy, but I have decided to make a stand.

Yesterday, one of my postdocs came to see me. He had decided not to seek a position until we knew the fate of our grants. The grant that got the good score will allow me to rehire him -- at half time, a full year after I had to let him go. He listened to my explanations, then grinned and said, "When you start the grant, I'll be in the lab."

I had to fight back tears... and I thought that this is true heroism, this broad Chinese man loving research as much as I do, and calmly deciding to take his chances with me.
For I come from an ardent race
That has subsisted on defiance and visions.

intrigued_scribe

Post by intrigued_scribe »

Now, that's truly inspiring. :)

Heather

sanscardinality

Post by sanscardinality »